Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many wild species are endangered due to modern technology.The Zoos have safety and protection for animals, still animals are suffering in the enclosure and being treated cruelly. Although they protect wild animal, in my,opinion wild animals belongs in the forest and their natural habits should not be disturbed. To begin with, wild animals are captured and kept in small enclosures in Zoos.They are not provided with proper food. For example, on average male lion eats 15kilograms of meat every day but very few zoos are economically stable to provide the lions with such a huge amount of meat. Moreover,to boost their revenue Zoos are even extending the visiting hours, which is leading to the mental illness of animals. For instance, giraffes are placed in very small enclosures so they are visible to visitors because of this reason they are suffering from mental trauma and neck injuries sometimes as they try to escape.For the above reasons Zoos must be shut down. On the one hand, Zoos provide shelter to endangered wild animals.Fashion industries are using animal fur,tusks etc to make the expensive products because of this demand for animals in the black market has gone high. For example,as per studies hundreds of elephants are killed by poachers every year for their tusks.With the advanced,technology many bird species are endangered,so bird sanctuaries should be set up in city outskirts to protect them which ensures our future generations gets a chance to see them.For these reasons only endangered wild animals can be kept and taken proper care in zoo under the guidance of the government making sure they are well treated. In short, though zoos provide the protection we must not disturb the natural habitats of wild animals.In my opinion, the zoos must be shut down so that ecosystem will not be disturbed.