Nowadays, many children are spending hours on using smartphones. Why is this a case and is it a positive or negative trend?

With the advent of technology over the years, today’s youngsters have been spending hours on their smartphones on a daily basis. I firmly believe that this is a positive trend. In this essay, several reasons, followed by my perspective on this trend will be discussed. First and foremost, it is undeniable that modern inventions, especially, mobile phones are vitally important to us as they have inevitably benefited people in many ways, starting from making a small phone call to practising some knowledge learning. As a result, hardly would young people be able to continue  with their daily life without mobile phones. Additionally, since the outbreak of the covid19 pandemic, it has become quite a common phenomenon to attend classes online and even some businesses are running online. Given this situation, children can’t be expected to avoid adopting smartphones at all. Instead of trying to completely prevent them from using mobile phones, we should educate them on how to use smartphones in a way that will be most beneficial and instil in them the actual purpose of using them. For example, we could teach them to play puzzles which will improve their mental ability in addition to some brainstorming games. To conclude, every merit comes with a demerit. It is impossible to assert that using smartphones doesn't harm children at all. However, considering the prominent advantages this trend provides to them, I believe that it is fairly reasonable to let children use smartphones despite the fact that excessive use should be forbidden.