Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Telecommuting has become possible due to information technology. Although this mobility yields less productivity, it saves time and money; therefore, its advantages outweigh the drawback it has. Primarily, the only disadvantage to adopt this trend is the less productivity of workers. To specify, while working remotely, subordinates either become less responsible as they are not under supervision of their seniors or sometimes they are not able to accomplish tasks on time because of poor internet connectivity at other areas; consequently, subordinates lack interest in work. For instance, a survey report depicts that owners of companies who give permission to their workers to work outside from workplace, make less profit as compared to other companies where employees work at their offices. However, the major advantage information technology brings is its time -saving approach. Since people are allowed to work remotely, they neither need to commute to work offices daily nor do they require to spend hours to get ready. All they need is to turn on the screens and start to work which becomes possible due to this technology. For example, had the workers of Life Insurance Corporation not allowed to work from their homes, they would not have been saved approximately two hours daily. Besides saving time, this approach assists in reducing the costs. When employees are working outside their office premises, they do not need to pay for fare or fuel. Likewise, there is a reduction in the bills of electricity, water and other utilities used by their workers at office which is advantageous for employers. Therefore, information technology is beneficial for both parties. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that working from outside areas of offices yields less productivity; however, it saves time and money. Hence, it is substantiated that the use of information technology to work from homes' advantages supercede the drawbacks it possesses.