Some people opine that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

There has been a controversy about whether reduced working hours are advantageous or detrimental. I think it has advantages and disadvantages. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, the working efficiency can be improved. As we know, employees are not working all the time; they take breaks occasionally, such as visiting some websites. At this point, if their working time is reduced, it can stimulate their spontaneity in work, and work their jobs in the expected time. According to some statistical figures, a New Zealand financial company carried out a 4-days working schedule in 2018. The result was outstanding; although 20% of employees' working time was deducted, their working efficiency was promoted substantially. For example, their time for visiting some irrelevant webs was reduced by 35%. Second, it's advantageous to workers' bodies. It's commonplace that many office workers need to work for a period of time; therefore, it's possible that there are some health problems in their bodies. For instance, it has been reported that many office workers suffer haemorrhoids and low back diseases on account of sitting too long. In this case, should staff only work 35 hours per week, they can have more time to do some sports. It's worth mentioning that this timetable can stimulate the country's economy as well. Because employees' working time is deducted, they have more leisure time. Hence, some entertaining places, such as nightclubs and shopping malls, will be popular. On the other hand, reduced working time has disadvantages as well. For instance, it brings inconvenience. There are some departments that are vital and are closely linked to our daily life, like banks. If they close earlier, it's bound to affect our life adversely; for example, you can't take out the money that you need. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week, I believe its merits outstrip its demerits