Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the word today. In the not too distant future, technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although the use of technology in the classroom is on the rise, that it will eventually replace human educators is unlikely. I think that teachers will still be needed to use and complement technology while teaching. The use of devices is intriguing to the current generation of learners and is expected to maintain that trajectory. If that happens then it will negatively affect the learners as gadgets cannot cater for individual student’s needs just as humans do. Firstly, it is evident that the use of technology such as computers and software-driven programmes in teaching is a growing trend. Today’s crop of learners seem to prefer to engage more with technology -driven subjects and classrooms rather than using textbooks and listening to lectures. This could be true of future generations as well. However, replacing the human influence with a robotic instructor is unlikely to have the same ambience and academic results. While technology -inspired instructors can work round the clock as compared to the limited abilities of human beings, they lack the empathy that human teachers possess and offer to learners. This renders teachers irreplaceable. Conversely, teachers will be expected to have a reduced presence in the classroom. Further, they have to tailor their lessons to compliment technology- use in the classroom. Unlike robotic instructors that cannot adopt the human element such as understanding, the presence of teachers proves to be essential to education. This makes them unique. They are not rigid as compared to devices like computers that function on batteries and or electricity. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that technology has been growing globally and its use is extensive especially in the classroom. Its total use in educational institutions is detrimental and unlikely. Human educators still play a pivotal role in nurturing learners by being empathetic. This differs from computer software that does not have or show emotions.