Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a widely held belief that it is the optimal choice to endure unfavourable circumstances while the counterargument for it is that they should be bettered. From my perspective, dire situations are of little benefit and should be avoided. On the one hand, it is necessary to be aware of the fact that merits can be acquired via suffering. Apparently, coping with undesirable incidents requires certain personal qualities and, as a result, provides those who grapple with them the opportunities to strengthen their desirable personalities and even learn to obtain new ones along the way. Therefore, embracing hardship can be considered beneficial and should be encouraged on some occasions. For instance, people who used to live in poverty are likely to possess frugality, which helps curb hedonism, avoid overindulgence and develop a moderate and healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, evasion from unwanted conditions is needed due to the negative outcomes they may result in. In fact, those conditions often lead to dissatisfaction and resentment, which are detrimental since they may inflict undesirable impacts on one’s physical and mental well-being. Hence, enhancing such situations in order to effectively escape from them is essential to ensure happiness and good health. A telling example of this justification is that labourers who regularly work under pressure are prone to anxiety, depression and other mental disorders, which would severely impair every aspect of their lives. In conclusion, there are sound reasons to defend both viewpoints mentioned above. In my opinion, there is no point in suffering from unpleasant scenarios due to the adverse effects they may bring.