Some people think the government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

he functions of governments come in an array of forms, among which science education is an indispensable facet. In spite of its importance, I am of the opinion that there exist other educational aspects which governments should attach significance to. Apparently, education on science has resulted in the boost of productivity and the reduction of man power in the meantime, as we currently are pushing buttons in factory production rather than doing original heavy-lifting. Modern transportation as another child of science brings us to the other half of hemisphere within less than one day while it would have taken months decades ago. On the other hand, it is quite obvious that solutions to countless issues in our modern society cannot hinge on the scientific-through. The rising rate of juvenile delinquency is supposed to be tackled by raising the law awareness of teenagers and certain restrictions on media violence. The widening gap between the affluent and needy is another issue that calls for better social welfare and economic development, rather than scientific discoveries. The aforementioned examples not only show the importance of law and social work compared with Science, but also remind governments of an uneven investment policy that only fuels predictable social problems. A country’s progress does not only hinge on the scientific breakthrough, but on the many other dimensions as well. Education, which concerns the long-term development of the whole nation, should cover each main stream like Literature, Engineering and Business and also, if possible, develop new branches catering for upcoming needs. To sum up, the allocation of educational funding should be balanced so as to guarantee the prosperous development of a country, although the importance of science cannot be underestimated.