Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social issues related to celebrities ' influence on young people have been widely discussed among people over centuries. It is hard to deny that celebrities set a positive model to personal appearance, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that famous people are a good example for young people. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as materialism, personal development and appearance are concerned, I strongly hold that celebrities set a bad example to the young. First and foremost, wealthy superstars make young people too materialistic, as the young tend to believe that money is everything. To be more specific, most of famous people are promoted for their wealth on TV, such as big houses, sports cars and luxury items they bought, and they look like shiny and proud of what they possess. As a result, young people would buy what luxury things their idols buy, though they could not afford these things, which may put a heavy burden on their families' financial situation and make them pursue materialism. Furthermore, the fact that being more famous for glamour and wealth than achievements of famous people damages one's personal development indicates that this may be a bad role for the young.Take the case of one of my classmates, who indulges a beautiful idol and spends a lot of money on her albums. As a consequence, he seldom works hard in his study and failed in the college entrance examination, which put an obstacle on his development in the future. Had it not been for wasting time and money on the celebrities, my classmate would never have become failable on his study. Nevertheless, a voice arises that glamorous people on TV make young children be aware of their appearance, and this is a positive trend. Ironically, the young people, especially those who lacks self-discipline, would waste much of their time on dressing and making up themselves like movie stars, which can be otherwise used in studying or something useful. What's worse, they are likely to tidy up their appearance at a young age because of the admiration for the pretty look of celebrities. Therefore, celebrities are more famous for their charm than achievements would make young people conscious of their appearance too much. In a nutshell, I maintain that as far as materialism, personal development and appearance are concerned, I strongly hold that being more famous for beauty and wealth than for achievements of celebrities sets a bad example to the young. Admittedly, as my favourite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues to fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.