Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that artists should not have any barriers or limits to express their creativity and ideas, while others think that giving them total freedom may be deleterious for our society. In my opinion a certain degree of freedom should be permitted, but the total one should be avoided. In fact, throughout our history, artists have always been responsible for change and progress and their works have been fundamental for our society. For example, Leonardo Da Vinci is responsible for the greater inventions of our history, and it is thanks to him that nowadays we live as we do. If at that time, his passion and scientific work were stopped by the public, maybe we would not have the possibility to look at the masterpieces he created. However, artists have also a great responsibility, since their works are exhibited all over the world, and social media let them share everything they want in real time. Even if we should respect everyone’s ideas, it is also true that some messages are totally wrong, and their diffusion can spread hate and anger. For instances, there are symbols, such as the ‘Z’, that some sportsmen wore during world championship, thus justifying the war in Ukraine. This increased the diplomatic tension, not only in Europe, but all over the world. In conclusion the arts are fundamental for our society and freedom to artists should always be granted unless it will cause damages and problems. There are some messages that will always be good and valuable, and artists are the keepers of our values. But, as someone said ‘With great powers come great responsibilities’.