Do you think that artists like writers, musicians and painters are valuable to society? Discuss

Since the dawn of civilization Art has been the main way to depict, not only an historical time, but also the emotions and the ideals of that period. Writers, musicians, and painters are the beating hearts of our nations, and they will always be. Firstly, artistic works permit us to understand and see the past under a new light. Authors such as Alessandro Manzoni gave us the possibility to discover how the Great Plague diffused throughout Italy and the way the citizens reacted to it. Thanks to Promessi Sposi, we now have a clear depiction of that time and of the people that lived in it. Manzoni and other writers, such as Verga or Pirandello, have done what today authors are also doing: write about what they know. Their work will be read or see in the future and will permit the next generations to know how life was in our days. Secondly, artists are able to leave a message throughout the century. A message, that in the majority of cases, is about love, friendship and freedom. Music, murals and paintings are our daily reminder to fight for what it is right, for our ideals. For instance, the famous pop singer Lady Gaga fights for gender equality in every song; her famous masterpiece ‘Born this Way’ is a manifesto for each person that feel alone and neglected. She taught us how to embrace who we are and not be afraid of the world or the society, we live in. The generation that was raised with her songs is, maybe, the first one to strongly fight for the LGBQT community. This is positive change. In conclusion, artists are the representatives of our ideals, our light in the darkness. They give us hope for a better future and permit us to learn from our past mistakes. They are the most beautiful part of our society, and we should always remember that.