Overpopulation is the world’s most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some might argue that the environment has been damaged as the population has excessively grown. However, I firmly believe that bottleneck does not largely affect the environment due to two reasons, which are disposal caused by factories and frequent recycling. To begin with, the amount of disposal significantly more affects the environment than other factors of environmental destruction. Waste water released into the rivers around the factory, chemical components from fuels used in the factory and the lack of trees which are cut down to construct the factory are the water, air and land deterioration respectively. Regards, even if the environment is exposed to waste from a large number of people, it is trivial compared to destroy of nature caused by the factory. For example, OECD reveals that over half of environmental deterioration in the world is conducted by factories. Furthermore, recycling is one of the methods to conserve the environment. It is evident that the disposals like plastic materials which cannot be removed are largely consumed by households. This means that bottleneck might be problematic as these kinds of disposals from houses will be burnt and buried in the land, which results in air deterioration and land pollution respectively. However, since many countries have a policy which requires citizens to recycle house wastes such as plastics, bottles and cans, the environment can be well conserved. For instance, the South Korean government has implemented the law having Koreans recycle, and this is effective enough to reduce environmental destruction in South Korea. In conclusion, overpopulation might seem severe in terms of the environment. However, I think factories destroy the environment much more and recycling makes overpopulation a slight problem.