Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Consumption of unwholesome food has been posing a threat to not only individuals but also society. Therefore, it is suggested that the government should levy a tax on this kind of food. At the same time, some people are expressing strong opposition against the 'fat tax ' since it is discriminatory and unnecessary. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and weigh the merits and demerits of tax imposition on unhealthy food. The rationale behind the introduction of a ‘fat tax based on the fact that it can reduce the production and consumption of unhealthy food and thus protect consumers' health. It is obvious that the price of unwholesome food will increase by virtue of taxation. It then discourages people from purchasing and consuming food detrimental to their physical well-being. Once the demand has declined, producers of unsanitary food are forced to look for a shift toward the manufacture of wholesome food. As a result, the market for this type of food will shrink, leading to its disappearance. Nevertheless, the fairness and necessity of this measure should also be taken into consideration. In a free market, imposing a levy on a particular kind of product will contribute to unfair competition. This action could put many enterprises on the brink of bankruptcy, particularly small- and medium-sized companies that do not possess adequate resources for a production transition. Moreover, the imposition of a ‘fat tax ’ could end up a financial burden on the poor. For example, in Vietnam, street food, which is made and consumed on the sidewalk and is exposed to many unhygienic factors such as smog, might be considered "unhealthy" by the well-off; it, however, is the primary source of food for low-income residents due to reasonable prices. Hence, forcing the financially incapable to pay an extra tax is a evidence of social inequality and thus likely to provoke resentment. In conclusion, a tax on unhealthy food could deter people from consuming it. However, from my perspective, its adverse impacts are much more severe since it can lead to the collapse of food production companies vulnerable to financial disruption. This taxation is also prone to social resentment when the right to obtain affordable food of the financially incompetent is violated.