It is the job of governments and companies to deal with the huge environmental problems which we face. Individuals on their own can do little or nothing’. What is your opinion about this statement?

Nowadays climate change has gathered more and more important since the situation has worsened dramatically in the last two decades. Some people believe that the solution to this huge problem must be tackled by big companies and governments since the action of one single person will not be able to change the situation drastically. I do not agree with this statement, since every little action matters and only together we can try to stop climate change. Firstly, it is true that large companies pollute more than single individuals, but they only answer to a need. For example, motor industries such as BMW or Toyota are still producing diesel cars because customers are still buying them, which will increase pollution on an enormous scale. If we preferred electric engines, they would stop producing diesel cars and focus on electric ones. However, not all cases are the same, there are companies that can not change the way they work because there are no means to obtain the same results with less waste; hospitals are great examples, in fact in order to avoid infectious diseases or complications in the operating room, everything has to be changed. Secondly, every business works because people support it, so if we stop using products that are not eco-friendly, we may reach a fantastic result. There are so many companies out there that do not care how much they pollute, but if we start to pay attention, then change can happen. For instance, starting to buy only shampoo or shower soap that are producing zero waste, is a way to push other companies to do the same. In conclusion, I believe that each action matters, that all together we can do something for our planet and even if big companies pollute more than single individuals, the moment we start making wiser choices is the time they will start listening.