Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that the main purpose of learning a foreign language is debatable. It is believed by some that travelling or working in a foreign country is the only reason for learning a second language. However, others suggest that there are other reasons. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives but I agree with the former. First of all, learning a new language is not easy at all, this is because it needs time and effort. Therefore, there must be a goal in order to do it, such as travelling to or working in a foreign nation. In addition, people who support this statement believe that it is time-wasting to learn a new language instead of learning something useful. For example, knowing how to fix broken things is considered better than learning a new language without using it. On the other hand, there are a plethora of people who believe that there are other reasons to learn a second language rather than travel or work in other countries, such as, taking it as a hobby, or even following a hobby that requires learning a new language. In other words, going to as many countries as possible has become more popular recently, if someone wants to do this hobby, and not speak English for example,(which is considered a worldwide language), this would be a significant reason to learn a foreign language. A growing body of research suggests that more than 20% of people learn a second language as a hobby. In conclusion, although there are plenty of people who believe that travel to or working in a foreign country is not the only reason why they should learn a new language, others suggest that it is enough reason to do it, which I believe also.