People living in the 21st century have a better life quality than people who lived in previous times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some have argued that individuals living in today’s era enjoy the highest quality of life yet attained in human history. I am largely in agreement with this contention despite the drawbacks associated with technology. Critics of this statement point out the psychological burden of modern technologies. This is most apparently the case for the internet and social media. In past generations, individuals possessed greater peace of mind and were more active, and less self-conscious, in their daily lives. Today, nearly everyone is online for a large proportion of the day and they are typically scrolling thoughtlessly through social media. Over time, the effects of using social media include addiction, low self-esteem, lack of productivity, and a more sedentary overall lifestyle. However, the downsides detailed above can be countered by individuals and are overshadowed by a range of benefits. Individuals today live in an increasingly inclusive society. Examples of this include the right to vote for women, equal political rights under the law, and greater diversity in the workplace. Depending on how far one looks back in history, there is a strong likelihood that a person would have a grueling work schedule, die young from a disease or armed conflict, be subjected to political and social oppression, or simply not possess today’s modern conveniences. Few can argue against the marvels of contemporary medicine, transportation, entertainment, and infrastructure.