Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with the police or the military. Others think that women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

We are living in an era where we are exposed to well-balanced gender diversity at workplaces. Although some believe that women are not suitable for roles in the police or the army, some believe that both genders should be treated fairly when applying for these jobs. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument while I support the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people, who argue that women are not suitable for any roles in the military, might say they are not as physically strong as men. The reason for this is that the roles and responsibilities of being a police officer, let us say, are strenuous and filled with a lot of physical tasks. To illustrate this point, the army personnel is required to go on patrol for 14 hours daily, equipped with heavy gear. In contrast, if women are considered for these roles on a regular basis, many of them might not be able to fulfil their jobs regularly. On the other hand, I would argue that both sexes should be treated equally when applying for labour with the army. This is because of fact that an army officer should also be knowledgeable besides having physical strength, allowing him to make better decisions on a regular basis. For example, women can easily contribute alongside men to run the administration offices of both the police and the army. To the contrary, if women are discouraged to apply for these roles continuously, this will simply reflect prejudice against women in the eyes of recruiters. In conclusion, while many women may not be as competitive as men in the area of physical strength, these jobs largely require a well-trained mind to carry out responsibilities in an equitable fashion. I think women ought to be treated fairly when they apply for these tasks.