Some people like to work in small companies or business while others prefer working for large companies of government organizations. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for a large company or organization?

Overtime, job choice has been based on individual preference as most persons prefer being employed by large institutions, while others will choose to work for minute organizations. In this essay, I will be looking at the benefits of commissioning for big firms. To begin, many people have always wished to be employed by large companies for various reasons. Firstly, the pay from huge firms are usually reasonable compared to that of smaller companies. For example, in Nigeria, a registered nurse is paid a hundred thousand naira by the government for beginners level, unlike smaller private hospitals that offer fifty thousand naira for the same degree. These proceedings have resulted to making nurses select jobs from government more than small private houses. Secondly, huge institutions normally have a friendly working environment as there is an increased man power thereby creating room for proper division of labour. For instance, doctors who work for big companies in Bayelsa state spend only eight hours on duty, thereby having more time to care for their personal needs. However, irrespective of the glamouring advantages that large firms possess, they all exhibit some drawbacks such as the impromptu withdrawal of their staffs. A case scenario is the Nigerian Bar Association of 2020 that has dropped over 200 of their staffs without pre-informing them due to the change in administration. This single act brought about joblessness and poverty amongst their employees. Another demerit is that they normally have autocratic leadership as a result making employees not to contribute ideas to the growth or establishment. In conclusion, with the growing need to be hired by governmental establishment, individuals should examine both demerits and merits of their choice so as to have maximum job satisfaction.