Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that many younger generation use their life playing with mobile phones in recent years. There are several factors that could cause the scenario, while there are some benefits and drawbacks that exist. In this essay, I will outline the cause and the impact, both positive and negative. First of all, the main factor is that many parents reduce the time they stay with their children. As a result, children spend most of their time playing with their mobile phones. For example, many mothers take their children to work after they finish school, and the work cannot be interfered with during their work, so giving phones to children to play with. However, there are some positive impacts on children playing on their phones. For instance, there are many language learning videos online, so children can learn another language which is attractive to them. Furthermore, using a smartphone can give various knowledge which might haven’t been taught by their parents or school. In addition, children might become more responsible because they would like to simulate the person who appeared in the video. On the other hand, some negative effects also exist when children use their mobile phones. For example, as children continuously look at the screen, that might cause them to be shortsighted. In addition, they might not have enough cognitive knowledge to distinguish between true and false when they are exposed to new things. Children might feel confused and even become isolative characters. In conclusion, there is the main factor that causes children to use smartphones most of the moment, with both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, the scenario has positive developments that outweigh the drawbacks.