In their advertising, businesses nowdays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that during the last decades the way products have been shown to the public has dramatically changed. Companies, seem to have been trying to enlighten more and more how the things they are making are always newer and game changers when compared to everything that came before. To begin with, the reason why this happens is that goods marketed as newer are more likely to be purchased by customers than older ones. People prefer to spend their savings on recent products for silly reasons such as status symbols. For instance, a person able to afford the last iPhone would never buy the model from three years ago. Therefore, companies, which have the final scope of selling what they make while being profitable for their investors, are forced to attribute to their creations the qualities that people want to hear. In my opinion, this is not a negative development, because it just shows how advanced the marketing strategies that businesses create have become. Whereas advertisement keeps on moving forward, I firmly stand by the idea that the buyers should really think twice when they are buying something, For example, to reduce waste, customers should try to change their smartphones or computers only when really needed; companies will reduce the production as a consequence. To conclude, the way products are advertised does not really create a negative impact, but the concrete action of buying them really makes a difference, especially in the environmental impact, and it should always be taken into account by customers when purchasing goods of every kind.