Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many packaged foods and drinks contain unhealthy ingredients like sugar. To prevent people from buying such foods and drinks to force them to consume less sugar, increasing their prices might be one of the solutions. While I agree with this statement, additional precautions should be implemented such as further education, increasing awareness etc. Firstly, sugary products are preferable mainly because they are affordable, convenient and make individuals happy. Accessing such products at low prices compared to healthy options motivate consumers to choose them. In addition to this, eating sugary provides releases some hormones that make people happy. Because of these reasons, a growing population consume more sugar than is needed. Increasing their prices would be an effective way to limit consumption. Additionally, many people are not aware that processed edible products lead to many diseases like obesity, heart disease, and diabetes. Moreover, even though some foods are not healthy but they may be perceived as healthy due to not paying attention to the label. It is important to read the nutrition labels before purchasing. Hence, awareness of society should be promoted about processed foods and their ingredients of those. These are some of the important ways to avoid added sugar. As a result, reducing sugar consumption would be beneficial for the national health system by admitting fewer patients to hospitals. To sum up, it can be argued that unhealthy processed foods and drinks are the cause of many diseases. Even though, making them expensive is one of the solutions different ways should be applied to solve this problem.