The increased world demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these sources in remote and untouched natural places.  Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these natural areas?

It is suggested that new oil and gas resources be found in uninhabited areas. I am of the opinion that this is likely to create more drawbacks rather than benefits.      Admittedly, there are some merits, one of which is to supply the growing energy needs. As more and more technologies are being used in the modern world, facilitating them with energy has become an issue. However, oil and gas resources can be a good solution to mitigate it. Another positive outcome would be its price and efficiency. Although there are other energy sources, including solar power, wind and water generators, it is not cost-effective to make use of them. Besides, there is a likelihood that these power stations will be unable to meet the demand. In some regions, for instance, only solar panels can be used.      Despite the advantages mentioned above, I see some flaws in this suggestion in terms of environment. First and foremost, the usage of conventional energy powers triggers air pollution as a result of exhausts released from vehicles, for example. Furthermore, finding unused mines is likely to entail cutting down trees in the area. Not only does this exacerbate global warming through deforestation problems, but also it will have detrimental impacts on biodiversity in terms of both fauna and flora as a consequence of habitat loss.      In conclusion, even though searching and utilizing unused reserves of oil as well as gas have some positive influences, it plays a huge role in natural problems such as air pollution and the extinction of some species.