Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays electronic devices contain various forms of entertainment and are utilized in various households. As a result, a number of children spend most of their time playing with their smartphones every day. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of this issue. To begin with, one of the disadvantages is children are addicted to smartphones. Usually, they play with phones due to boredom. However, there is endless entertainment such as games available on the devices. This might end up in addiction or spending less time with real people and physical movements. Moreover, children are easily exposed to inappropriate content. There are many games and videos available on phones and children are young to make decisions. For instance,Youtube suggests random videos for children which might contain burglaries or horror genres.These kinds of videos give a negative impact on growing children both mentally and educationally. Therefore, utilizing smartphones provides distractions for growth because of addiction and irrelevant knowledge. On the other hand, spending time on smartphones could bring advantages as well. One of the reasons is there are many educational lessons available. A number of educational applications attract children ’s attention and help them to focus on learning easily. They can gain knowledge anywhere at any time and even parents can guide them together. In addition,mobile phones increase connectivity with friends. They can message their friends at any time and share their daily lives. Also, children easily interact with their friends worldwide through social media and enhance their connectivity. Thus, smartphones are useful to increase children's knowledge, as well as social interaction. In conclusion, smartphones provide many entertainment and chances to learn easily, however, children must be guided by parents to avoid such irrelevant content and addiction to the device in order to secure their healthy life cycle.