It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travelling to different parts of the world is no longer considered an effective way to learn about different cultures since other platforms such as books, films, and the Internet can provide users with more convenient access. I strongly disagree with this point of view due to several reasons. Regarding books, films, and the Internet, it is undeniable that these sources of information have positive impacts on people thanks to their convenience and vivid illustration. Since books and films are readily available on many smartphones people can broaden their horizons without spending much money on travelling. This is economically viable, especially for undergraduates who do not have much money. However, these sources of information are not always trustworthy since there is no stringent imposition of censorship and unqualified individuals can also be a contributor, thus easily leaving audiences under misapprehension. For example, Wikipedia, one of the most famous sources of information, sometimes provides unreliable data. On the other hand, I vehemently hold that travelling will have a greater influence on learners’ experience in terms of cultural events. Firstly, should people set their foot in a remote area, they will have a chance to immerse themselves in the joy and excitement of local activities which cannot be described by words or distorted for commercial purposes. Secondly, it is easier to memorize information about culture when people physically engage in these cultural activities. For instance, only when western people learn how to make Chung cake to prepare for the Tet holiday will they conceive of the pride and eagerness that Vietnamese people feel on this day, which could not be found in books or newspapers. Therefore, having practical experience is more important for students if they want to learn more about culture. In conclusion, although books, films, and the Internet may help learners widen their cultural knowledge thanks to appealing images, these sources of information cannot provide information that is as authentic as practical experience which can also assist them to remember longer.