Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Nowadays, because of technological development, more and more students tend to study subjects related to computers, which causes a reduction in the number of school children who want to learn about science. I personally think that this trend is both beneficial and detrimental in about equal measure as I will describe below, explaining two reasons for this trend: logical learning and higher remuneration. On the one hand, in terms of the benefits of learning about computers, it can contribute to making our lives more convenient and more effective. In our everyday life, we have a lot of materials including mobile phones and laptops, all of which are related to computers. For instance, in ancient times, people had to write a letter to their family and coworkers every time they needed to say something personally. However, in this modern society, all they have to do is type some letters on a screen and send them to other people via devices immediately, which leads our lives to become more time-effective. On the other hand, it is also essential for us to learn about science because the subject is deeply connected with our modern life. Without it, our lives would have been completely different from what it is today. To illustrate this, scientific research for human beings allowed us to live longer than ever before, resulting in longevity around the world. Therefore, people started to enjoy their lives longer, which affected their well-being in their lives. Turning to the reasons for this trend, one of them is that computers are not as difficult as science because the process of learning is usually logical, which can lead young people to work easily unlike science, where a large amount of time and effort might be required. As a result, a great deal of pupils would feel too formidable to keep studying science, thus changing their major to more logical ones like computers. Moreover, another reason is that it is said that professional engineers are more likely to earn than scientists. Some statistics conducted by the Japanese government in 2020 show that the average salary of those who worked at an engineering company was roughly twice that of scientists. In conclusion, we can see a tendency where more school children prefer studying computers to science at educational institutions. In my opinion, this development has positive and negative aspects in about equal measure as computer subjects contribute to our productivity while science allows us to relish our time longer than in the past. In addition, the two reasons for this are that computers are easier to tackle than science and that learning computers can lead to higher remuneration.