In order to solve traffic problems, the government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Road traffic is a huge problem that needs to be tackled in order to have a normal city's availability, which would permit ambulance and police cars to move easily and more important quickly than before. Some people have suggested taxing private car owners in order to have more funds to invest in public transport, which is a solution with both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, being able to increase bus and train services would be a massive improvement for our cities, since this would permit a decrease in air pollution, thus slowing down climate change. For example, it was proven that if we all use public transport instead of cars, gas levels in the air would fall considerably. This is due to the fact that diesel cars are one of the main contributors to gas emissions, which fall is advisable. On the other hand, obliging people to not use cars, would be an immense limitation, that may not be accepted by most. For instance, cars are very comfortable when you have to travel long distances and sometimes trains do not cover the area you are interested in going to. Moreover, public transports are not always at our disposal and sometimes you need to leave at specific hours, which may not be compatible with the buses timetable. In conclusion, even if the upsides of this choice are a lot, the downsides are too much important to be ignored. Public transport is a wonderful possibility to travel or move inside the city, but can not be the only choice we give for our citizens.