Presently, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, the population of several countries consists of a considerable amount of young adults, even exceeding the number of elders. There are pros and cons to this phenomenon, which are described in the following. Firstly, let us discuss the advantage. Outnumbering the old from the last generation, the youngsters in this generation will inject more vitality into the domestic economy. In particular, firms are more likely to hire a hoard of ambitious employees, which enables them to expand more swiftly, as well as function more efficiently in product and service supplies. Furthermore, young adults' endless desires for consumption trigger soaring demands. For instance, research in my hometown pinpoints that those countries with sufficient young labour force and a high level of consumption generate outstanding GDP indices and are thus more suitable for newcomers to settle down. Nevertheless, the disadvantage is looming. Compared to the previous generation, fiercer competitions for domestic resources are necessary for youngsters to swallow. Therefore, tremendous adults may not find suitable jobs, so they need to consume money from the old. However, they are too few of them to distribute sufficient pension funds to their kids. In the end, this vicious circle may generate tragedies and even crimes. As an illustration, my neighbour Xiao Ming has a poor family. He set fire to his previous firm and committed suicide after he got fired and failed to get employed for one entire year. Although being a culprit, he loved his parents and didn't want to put massive pressure on them. In my opinion, the disadvantage outweighs the advantage since such social issues may generate a surging crime rate which will finally stiff the economy from growth, as the consumers and companies are afraid of being potential targets and opt to move out of the region.