Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals are of the opinion that pupils should take a gap year between high school and university, to explore and improve oneself. There are many good sides to this idea but I believe that this opinion also has a bad side. There is no doubt that having a gap year between college and high school will help one expand herself and hone her skills through different experiences. For example, when traveling to another country, due to the adventure of finding a way or a place to stay, likewise communicating to buy food will help one learn to adapt to different cultures and situations, develop communication skills,and sometimes it is possible to pick up new foreign languages. Moreover, this break is also a time for an individual to look into her inner soul in order to find out what she really needs and prefers, or what her strengths and weaknesses are, based on it will identify a suitable career path for those who are still confused about their future. From the two points that already mentioned above, it is clearly to admit that if the gap year is not happening, the individual might not know what she truly wanted and enroll in a wrong major which lead she to a bad result such as: she will struggle with her studies and waste a colossal amount of money on tuition fees, on the major that she don’t love to. Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I also believe that gap year in such a critical period will produce adverse effects on individuals. First of all, when one has the gap year, your peers already study or go to work and are one step closer to success. This will create an implicit comparison deep inside that makes individuals lose her confidence and momentum to study. Secondly, when you go back to school after a long time being absent, people will have a hard time resuming their education. In the worst scenario, some students will drop out because they can not follow the lesson and atmosphere of the college anymore, and go back to doing one’s dreams without a degree. Thirdly, there is a case that if the gap year involves international travel and living abroad, then an 18 year -old gapper without any experience in planning and budgeting might be at risk of running out of money, being tricked into doing something illegal for money. Furthermore, a gap year to go to another country might be extortionately expensive, because one will have to take into consideration a host of expenses including transportation, accommodation, and food. In conclusion, a break between highschool and college to go to work or experience travelling abroad have both advantages and disadvantages.