In many developing countries there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industries and construction.what measures can be taken to prevent it

Water and air are essential for human beings.Over the centuries,these resources are exploited without knowing the consequences and effects on human beings.In this essay, I will look firstly at how the industries are polluting them and what measures are required to overcome them with appropriate examples. To start with, most of the industries are set up around the water bodies because they need drinkable water in manufacturing the products, however they discharge wastewater into the drainage and ending back to the river or lake.Discharge water is full of chemicals thus impacting the bio-diversity of the river and lake. For example, most of the leather industries are situated on the river bank of Ganga and they used water for processing and discharging wastewater into the river, thus impacting sweet water fish and dolphins. Also oxygen level in Gangra is at a minimum level.Construction industries use various soils like sand along with cement.If sand and cement are not properly managed then it will cause air pollution because sand has fine particles which can remain suspended in the air for a long. For example,in my area high rise building is under construction and due to mismanagement air quality is reduced and reached beyond permissible levels. In order to reduce air and water pollution, first, strict regulation is required wherein wastewater must be treated, make drinkable and then discharge back to the river or lake, also the drainage systems must be connected with the STP's where wastewater can be treated.Heavy penalties should be imposed on those Industries which are not aligned with the regulation. For example, many industries in Meerut are connected with stp's step's where wastewater is treated and the clean water is used in farming or released back into the river. To improve their quality, sand and cement should be properly covered.At regular intervals water must be sprinkled so that the fine particles remain settled on the ground. In conclusion, the government has to play a vital role where regulations should be enforced and proper monitoring is required to check water and air pollution.A monitoring station should be created where regulators can review the situation and penalized the offenders.