Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives, so it is a waste of time to read news in the newspaper and watch news programs in television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News helps us to be updated about things happening around the world. However, some highlight that media companies prefer to show what is profitable to them, therefore news is just another way to kill our time unnecessarily and there is no direct relevance to people `s lives. In my perspective, I strongly agree with the statement and the reasons for this will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, there is no difference between a manufacturing company and a media company when it comes to their ultimate goal which is profits. Therefore most media companies prefer to show news which has little or no connection with people `s lives. For example, suicides and political dramas. Sadly, most people are interested to know such news simply to gossip with another or to kill their time, despite such news won`t bring any good for them. Secondly, media companies are reluctant to show good things happening around the world because they feel such news will make their customers bored. Therefore they prefer not to show them even if such news could help people to improve themselves. A recent survey done at Melbourne University found that 80% of the news is either sad or depressing which clearly indicates that reading articles or watching programs is just a waste of time. In summary, all the media companies are money oriented and because of,that they tend to show what excites the people even if that news has no value whatsoever. I strongly agree that news has no connection with the population`s lives and it is just another way for people to kill their time.