Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary epoch, whilst proponents hold the view that art is a crucial subject in the school curriculum, opponents have diverse perspectives. However, I am a staunch believer that this subject is considered a waste of time because it may hinder students from spending sufficient time learning a scientist’s material. Both views, along with my point of view will be further explained. On the one hand, despite disagreeing that art should be a salient subject like other core materials, some advocates believe that art facilitates the intellectual development of children. In other words, when scholars’ mind is armed with creative skills, they will learn things promptly and efficiently. For example, a study conducted by the University of Oxford, England, revealed that students who have studied artistry learn a new lesson faster than those who do not. Thus, what can be said is that crafts are paramount to improving interpersonal skills. On the other hand, some people argue that art is not a practical subject, and incorporating such modules in the curriculum will hamper the pupils’ future. This means that if the learners study other than extra-curriculum activity this will boost their chances of getting a good job in multinational companies. To illustrate, a recent survey conducted by Times Magazine has shown that many science graduates get better job offers, whereas some artists are struggling to earn their livelihood. Hence, scientific subjects are not only vital to gaining a thriving job but also help in applying to a prestigious university. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that even though art ameliorates cognitive skills, core materials are quintessential to ensure a better future. Therefore, I am convinced that art is a complete loss of time and cannot be a subject to study to earn a living.