More and more people in the city live in homes with small spaces or no outdoor areas. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

In many major cities, many citizens now reside in stuffy living conditions due to the rising density. Personally, I strongly believe that this modern development is largely detrimental to both the young and older generations in the family. To begin with, adults would certainly suffer mentally from the lack of indoor space due to a lack of personal comfort. Considering the contemporary work nature in major cities, employees are under great pressure to perform well and work hard in competitive markets to make ends meet for their families. Therefore, homes should be the place where they can enjoy convenience and relaxation after intensely stressful work. However, it has been proven that cramped spaces can elicit feelings of confinement, further accumulating negative emotions and aggressiveness for the family breadwinner. In the long run, this could not only adversely worsen people’s mentality but also breach the bonds between family members due to built-up tension caused by the absence of personal space and privacy for each. For younger generations in the family, limited space could result in a decrease in the well-rounded development of children. Specifically, sufficient space is required for the essential playing and exploring process of children, nurturing their activeness and also physical capability. Without such opportunities, teenagers might stand a high risk of adopting a sedentary lifestyle along with related diseases such as obesity, which is commonly seen in big cities nowadays. This is not to mention research in the field proving that the lack of personal space for learning at home also hurts the academic performance of a child at school, affecting both his intelligence and creativity. In conclusion, while it is true that the rise of small houses in large cities is understandable considering our increasingly dense population. I believe this is posing serious consequences to the livelihood of urban dwellers, including the young and adults, and should be timely tackled for their own sake.