Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Some people believe that producers and supermarkets should use less packaging on their products, while others believe that the consumer is the ones that should be avoiding buying this kind of product. This essay believes that the earlier is more responsible for reducing the use of packaging. Manufacturing companies and supermarkets produce the most packaging garbages in the world. As the big players in the industry, these companies can create a bigger impact by making substantial changes in how they produce and distribute their products. As the first example, they can avoid this by using more environmentally friendly materials to package their products. Furthermore, supermarkets can also limit plastic usage by encouraging buyers to bring their own bags. By doing this, there will definitely be a more significant impact. Customers, on the other hand, have a more limited role in this movement. Their roles are limited to bringing their own reusable bags whilst shopping and avoiding products with plastic packaging. Unfortunately, the consumer can only choose from the options available in the market. Therefore, it is believed that the impacts that they are created are a lot lesser. It is seen that companies give more impact, therefore this essay believes that companies are more responsible.