Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is that? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

Recently, nations allocate a substantial bulk of their national budgets to fund pedalling. It is believed that investing in proper infrastructure for bicycles will eventually lessen street blockage and contribute to a greener environment. However, there are other pragmatic approaches to mitigating the issue of roadblocks in megacities. In the following essay, the rationales behind these fundings, along with other solutions, will be further explained. To begin with, investing in bicycles as a main means of transport can immensely alleviate the problem of street blockage. To illustrate this, if authorities construct massive roads with convenience for commuters, people will eventually adopt the habit of using bicycles continually. An eminent example of this is the Netherlands, which has one of the largest numbers of bikers in its capital, as users have safe lanes dedicated for this purpose. Moreover, since bicycles depend on physical pedalling to operate without burning fuel, they reduce environmental defilement. Thus, not only does the use of bikes decrease traffic congestion, but it also improves the quality of air for people. Nevertheless, it is proposed that even though using bicycles is a modality that addresses this issue, there are other more viable solutions to mitigate the problem of street blockage such as improving the public transportation system and subsidizing it for the public. This is because when governments enhance public means of transportation in quality, quantity and affordability, there will be a positive public consensus about utilizing them. For instance, London has a massive comprehensive network of trains and buses that services almost all areas at affordable prices. additionally, increasing the prices of fuels can encourage people to use alternatives to their private vehicles. Hence, what can be said is that the issue of roadblocks can be solved by initiatives conducted by countries' authorities. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that nations nowadays endorse the notion of utilizing bikes as a means of transport by funding proper infrastructure in order to alleviate the problem of crowded streets and purify the air. Nonetheless, there are more viable solutions to solve this issue such as providing superior public vehicles and surging fuel prices.