In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, children are taught to work hard so that they can achieve their goals. From my perspective, this can help them to always give their best in anything that they will do. However, it can be a blockage to their activities and social life if they have become too ambitious. On the one hand, telling children to try hard enough help them to build good characters as a diligent, determined, and hard-working person. These characters will help them to get through the process that will lead them to success. For instance, Thomas A. Edison, the most well-known investor of all time, experienced so many failures in his experiments. He finally succeeded with his first lightbulb after getting through 9.998 trials. If only he had already given up on his previous experiment, then he neither would experience his success in investing in a lightbulb nor becoming the person who has the most impact on our life today. On the other hand, teaching children to work hard as their road to success will create a chance to make them become overambitious, and it is a disadvantage as they can have improper daily activities and social life, such as most comic artists. In the recent article that I have ever read, most comic artists are hard-working people who have clear goals, yet they find it quite difficult to maintain proper activities and social life. Since they need to achieve their goals to become a successful comic artist, they often get too focused on their works. This act has made them ignorant of their surroundings. They tend to eat and sleep at improper hours and have weaker social skills, which can negatively affect their physical as well as mental health. To sum up, it is good to teach children to try hard on their goals as it can motivate them to enjoy the process. Nevertheless, if they have become overambitious, then it might be challenging for their daily and social life.