Some people believe that having a conversation on a mobile phone in a public or crowded place should be banned. Others feel that we should be able to talk wherever we like. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether people should have a conversation on a mobile phone in a public or crowded place. I think there shouldn't be any restrictions; people can talk freely. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, people can stay informed timely. It's expected that there are some reasons why people converse in public areas. Take me as an example. I was on the bus yesterday, and there was a lady sitting next to me. I heard she was talking to her friends about her new job; she looked quite excited and left the bus at the next station. At this point, were phones to be banned in public areas, people couldn't get vital information on time, and it could cause some losses. Besides, having a conversation on a mobile phone in a public place can entertain the tedious journey. As we know, the journey between two destinations can be monotonous; hence, talking on the phone is considered a good way to spend your time. Second, it's also a manifestation of freedom of speech. It's expected that the core of freedom of speech is to speak whatever and wherever we want. Therefore, the right to have a conversation on a mobile phone in public areas manifests the principle of freedom of speech to a large extent. On the contrary, if there was a restriction about talking on mobile phones in public areas, it would violate this concept substantially. On the other hand, talking in a public place has some negative influences as well. For example, it annoys other people or passengers. It's commonplace that someone talks about his personal matters on a bus or train quite loud. As a consequence, all others can hear the conversation clearly, which might involve some shameful things. In this case, speakers should at least control their voices to ensure others won't be bothered. In conclusion, I believe we have the right to talk wherever we want, but we need to control our voices.