Role of Epigenetics in Human Diseases: Bioactive Food Peptides for the Prevention and Treatment of Chronic Diseases through Modulation of the Epigenome

It is clear that a wide spectrum of human diseases is a function of epigenome modulation. Environmental factors and lifestyle particularly nutrition can modify the regulation of the epigenome. Bioactive peptides (BAPs) driving from different sources such as food sources, animal sources, vegetal sources, and exogenous sources. They affect epigenome regulation through undergoing changes of DNA methylation, histone acetylation, non-coding RNAs, and miRNAs. Bioactive derived food peptides with epigenetic effects can be a contributing factor in different medical conditions such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases (CVDs), neurological and neurodegenerative disorders, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), and type 2 diabetes (T2DM). In the present chapter, we have covered the function epigenetics process, different types of epigenetic diseases, providing various information of BAPs, collected the variety of bioactive derived food peptides with epigenome effects, prevention and treatment of chronic diseases including cancer, CVDs, neurological and neurodegenerative disorders diseases, and T2DM by bioactive food peptides with epigenetic effects, the last but not the least is epigenetic therapy by bioactive food peptides. The study set out to clarify the role of bioactive food peptides for the prevention and treatment of chronic diseases through modulation of the Epigenome. Bioactive food peptides with epigenetic effects for instance Lunasin, BCM7(Beta-casomorphin-7), and GM7 (Gliadinomorphin-7) are defined as epigenome modifiers to treatment of chronic diseases. Finally, in this chapter, the results fueled our view that Lunasin is considered an anticancer peptide and as a clinical trial for treatment of neurological and neurodegenerative disorders. Accordingly, in the near future, Lunasin will lay the groundwork for therapeutics and prevention of chronic diseases especially neurodegenerative disorders, CVDs, and cancer with fewer side effects. Although, BCM7 have positive effects on neurodegenerative disorders, there is not enough a large scale of groundbreaking projects whether it can impact on treatment of CVDs or not, depside contrasting findings. It will be a great challenge to come up with a definitive answer to this question in the future. Lastly, there is not enough evidence on the effects of GM7 to treatment and prevention of chronic disease. However, only a few epigenetic drugs have currently been approved by the FDA, a new hope dawned on bioactive food peptides with epigenetic effects would be as a driving force to prevention and treatment of chronic diseases without any side effects by the different molecular effective means like Nano delivery or Si-RNA, and so on. Additionally, despite a large knowledge gap, bioactive food peptides with epigenetic effects have a large impact on health so as that there is a demand for more attention to be paid to the development of peptide therapeutics and follow-up studies. They will make a considerable contribution to ideal therapeutic candidates for chronic diseases through epigenomic modulation soon. To conclude, by this study, now a more nuanced understanding of bioactive food peptides with epigenetic effects would pave the way for new propelling investigation.