Some people think that teenagers who commit crime should be treated the same way as adults criminals.To what extend do u agree or disagree?

In recent years, a growing concern has been evolving around the punishment of teenagers. People have mixed views on such as issue as some believe criminal laws should be applied to teenage criminals as they did to adults, whereas others believe we should give a chance to the youth to shine instead of locking them up. Personally, I believe it is essential to treat criminals of different age groups separately and focus on re-educating young people for the following reasons. To begin with, imposing punishment on the younger population can be detrimental to their mental well-being. Unlike adult criminals, young criminals are way more fragile than many may expect. Locking them in a small-sized cell won't help them to reflect on their behaviours given they are immature and sensitive. Studies show that young people are more likely to commit crimes after release due to the mental trauma from prison. Therefore, it is safe to say that inflicting punishment on children can exacerbate their mental development and physical health. In addition, it will increase the operation expenditure of prisons and courtrooms if children are allowed to be treated equally as their adult counterparts. Many children are considered too young to take care of themselves. As a result, they may need extra legal assistance from children's welfare and charitable organizations when they face charges. Considering the complexity of the law system in Canada, it may cost taxpayers a fortune to complete a case. At the same time, prisons also need to invest in facilities to accommodate demands of juvenile prisoners. Finally, it will overwhelm the jurisdiction system as the costs pile up.