Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Recently, there has been conflicting viewpoints on the sharing of research in many various work sectors as well as academically. Some believe that all data should be freely obtainable, while others viewed viewe certain select information as paramount and thus should not be easily available. This essay will discuss both contrasting viewpoints. First of all, i'll adress the stance for those who choose to share as much knowledge as conceivable. These individuals view information as a resource that should be attainable by fellow colleagues. This viewpoint is one that has benefited progress in research. The sharing of information has availed many researchers to work towards a common goal and thus reach a probable solution much quicker. This was clearly evident in biological concepts such as genes and inheritable traits, where scientists such as Mendel, Hardy and Weinberg all contributed to getting facts and thus forming a cohesive knowlede on this matter. This further illusrates the necessity of ilimitable inimitable data Conversely, others have argued that certain facts are highly valuable and thus shouldn't be attainable. This could be seen in ongoing research on human subjects. When dealing with patients, it is against the law to share personal information as its an intrusion of privacy. Take the US as an example, there has been numerous lawsuits, whereby certain figures were shared without the patient's consent. Obtaining information through this appoach is wrong and thus lawsuits are usually made. Although this information may have been useful it was got through the wrong means. To conclude, factual details are of utmost importance in research, although most can be shared, it is imperative to obain consent from the parties it affects before publishing the relevant knowledge.