Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, marriage ceremonies are becoming avalanche and more costly. The decision to keep up with the Joneses and to be recognised could be the reason. In my opinion, I think it is a negative development. Nowadays, people are now seeing life as a competition, everyone wants his or her name to be heralded and also to be an everyday subject matter for discourse. These has led to people competing among themselves which is no longer verisimilar tale in this modern world. With the adoption of the mindset to always keep up with the Joneses, striving to reach the echelon of a fellow cohorts has led to the enormous number of weddings and the huge chunk of money attached to it. Weddings has recently becomes the game of opulent people. Despite the fact that the huge amount of money attached to it would propel people to work more harder and remain focus in life which is one of its positive development, I believe that the negative development supercedes its positive development. One of the negative development that might emanates is that there are tendency for people to engage in illicit acts and misdemeanor such as kidnapping and robbery in order to meet up with the demand as regard to the avalanche of wherewithal required to have a befitting wedding. This will result to people living in fear and creating an unfavourable environment. for example, In a environment where there is incessant kidnapping and robbery, people tend to seek for another abode due to fear of being attacked. In conclusion, people viewing life as a competition by always keeping up to the Joneses has done more harm than good and has resulted to a more negative development rather than positive.