A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not manage correctly. Describe the merits and demerits of tourism in the world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh it's drawbacks.

Nowadays the economies of many regions are based on tourism mostly, while it must be managed properly otherwise could pose a great threat to the same region. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of touristry and I believe that the positive aspects are far more than the negative consequences related to it. Without a doubt, tourism has certain financial benefits for any country. To begin with, it brings a lot of foreign currency in the form of dollars by the visitors. This means that more tourists come to visit means more they will spend on food and souvenirs. In addition, domestic workers will be able to grab more job opportunities. It means that if more visitors come for sightseeing, more guides will be required to serve them. Moreover, this phenomenon of visiting foreign areas also brings some clear cultural benefits. Learning local languages by visitors is the best illustration of domestic language promotion. However, these benefits are important only if authorities take care of the area and the attitudes of tourists. Several downsides are associated with the increase in travelling in certain areas. One of them is air and land pollution. This means that often tourists do not care about cleanliness and throw garbage at any place, which affects the beauty of the area. Another thing that comes with the increased trend of visiting is air pollution in terms of carbon emissions from planes and cars. Although these potential drawbacks may hurt the beauty of the region, these can be controlled effectively by the authorities through the implementation of strict rules to stop the spread of litter and limit the number of air flights. In conclusion, many countries are only economically stable due to mass tourism in their areas. There are some serious drawbacks like the threat of pollution; nonetheless, the strengths such as an increase in foreign reserves are far more significant than these drawbacks.