Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

There has been ongoing debate on whether its advantageous to play in team sports or to be a sportsperson of an individual sporting event. This debate is likely based on preference, as those who prefer team-events enjoy the comraderie and support of teammates, while those that choose single-person sports are happy with the indepence it brings. This essay will address the benefits of each stance and its resulting effects. Regarding team sports, this is beneficial because of support often gained by fellow team participants. This results in different people focusing on certain areas of a single problem and banding together to form a one joint result. This can be seen in soccer matches, with different roles assigned to different players. An example coud be that of the role of the defender who prevent the opposing team from acquiring a goal, while the striker's aim is to score a point for the team. This division of work means the burden is equally shared, with the individual players only acting when there is a need. Additionally, substitutes are also at their disposal allowing for those who may have obtained an injury to rest. This highlights the benefits of team participation as effort is spread out unlike in one person sports. On the other hand, single person sports are favoured by certain individuals. In this case the individual only pays attention on themselves without worrying about the efforts or abilities of others. This is seen in tennis games where the player tries to gage their opponent's capabilities and how they can out-play them. The player isn't pre-occupied with anything other than their own performance. This might be a route for those who are fiercely self reliance as the prime focus is self. Although, the participant may get tired as they can't fall back on teamates, they have ultimate control on their activity as well as what they can do alone to win the match. To conclude, deciding on whether single sports or team sports is beneficial is a solely dependent on individual bias. Both these forms have different benefits, selecting one over the other depends on whether one prefers competing with a team or alone.