Health care has always been a challenge to most governments. Some people think that governments should collect fat tax because fattening food increases the risk of diseases. Others, however, believe that people should be free to choose their own diet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, as the pace of life in the city is becoming faster than before, people always have less time to cook by themselves. Instead, a variety of new food has appeared in this world, such as fast food and microwaved food. These kinds of food are really convenience for people who spend most of their time on work. However, it also cause some health problems for people. On the one hand, people who always dine out would have a higher risk of getting diseases, this is because we have no idea about the making process of the food we eat and we don't know if the ingredients are fresh or not. Furthermore, in order to make the food more appealing, it always contains lots of salt and oil, which is the main culprit of obesity. Therefore, some people argue that if people who do not care about their own health, it will cause a waste of health care funds which is offered by government, so they need to pay more health care taxes to government. On the other hand, some people think they have the rights to choose the food they want to eat, government should not limit the freedom of people to choose what they want to eat. Moreover, nobody volunteers to put themselves at risks, if they have enough time to cook themselves, they would not want to eat the unknown food to risk their own health. As far as I am concerned, I believe that it is inappropriate for government to collect fat tax. It not only violates human rights but also shows disrespect to the people who are genetically predisposed to fat disease. There must be some better solutions to deal with this problem such as encouraging people to do some exercise. We should come up with an award system instead of a punishment.