Some people think that spending a lot of money on wedding parties and other celebrations is just a waste. Others, however, think that such events are necessary, so spending money on them is acceptable. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Celebration of special events is always considered important. Moreover, it involves a huge expense. It is believed by few that overspending on nuptial ceremonies and other festivities is unnecessary; however, few others opine that it is essential to cherish memories for a lifetime. This essay shall elaborate on both views along with examples justifying the same. On one hand, the organisers of a party have to invest their life savings in order to portray a successful wedding event for their children. This could lead to heavy debts for the creators of the bride and the groom. For instance, most Indian families belong to the middle-class society and follow a tradition of grand celebrations. They begin to save at a very early period. Those who cannot afford often end up owing money to the lenders, which leads to suicidal incidents when unable to repay. Additionally, it is considered a prestigious matter amongst the relatives as to how much one invests in the marital functions. The event organisers are looked down upon if they failed to do so. On the other hand, major events, such as a marriage, happen once in a lifetime and many would like to rejoice those moments their entire life. Any occasion involves myriad rituals, which directly impact the budget. To exemplify, photoshoots are considered mandatory in the present era. This could be useful for the next generations to transfer knowledge about the tradition and the culture. In addition to it, families and friends get together occasionally considering a mundane lifestyle. Hence, parents are of the opinion that it is necessary for inviting all the close relatives, although it attracts high-budgeted catering services. To summarize, expenditure on any celebrations among the family is a debatable topic. Some consider heavy investing, while others cannot afford it. However, I personally opine that any family member should plan their event as per their income, and not bother about what society assumes, as they would have to face the consequences themselves.