Some people think that secondary/high school students should study literature (e.g. novels, plays, poetry) only from their own country. Others say it is more important for students to study literature from all over the world. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is considerable debate over whether it is preferable to teach national literature versus global literature to secondary school students. This essay examines the reasons for both perspectives and outlines my belief that while national literature is essential, world literature imparts a greater and more robust perspective. Teaching young people about books, plays and poems by local writers is essential. Firstly, young people enjoy learning about their own culture and are familiar with it. This is also appealing to teachers and parents who can impart first -hand knowledge. In New Zealand, for instance, students must read "Whale Rider" by Witi Ihimaera, and they can learn about Maori culture and imagine familiar landscapes. Whatsmore, reading about national literature, especially stories by indigenous people like Ihimaera, teaches teens to respect the traditional owners of the land and to embrace indigenous cultures. I would argue however that international literature is much more varied, gives people a broader perspective on society, and makes them less biased and more accepting of foreign cultures. To illustrate, a New Zealand student would benefit from studying Asian or African stories and discern that there are universal concepts, regardless of nationality: love, courage, good versus evil and many more. While it is vital to learn about the indigenous folk in your own country, I believe it is fundamental to read about minorities worldwide and see cultures through diverse lenses. In summation, while learning about one's own culture is vital, I believe that learning about world literature is infinitely more valuable. This is because one country's perspective is by nature, limited. Consequently, teaching youth about world literature is essential to create open-minded and tolerant attitudes.