Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the development of transportation, some people advocate that it is better to spend more budget and effort on public transport than on roads. Others, however, suggest that both are essential for traffic development in a country. I agree with the attention on rail lines. This essay will discuss the causes according to traffic jams and environmental issues. Allocating money and time to the construction of railways in suburban areas include a less destructive effect on the environment than roads. Because, for constructing paths which are used by cars, some materials which are dangerous for environment; such as asphalt (including tar and oil which are very destructive) are being used, although for railways progression no need to any dangerous material. Furthermore, routes are used by cars using fossil fuels, which is one of the most reasons for pollution; however, trains using rail lines work by electricity, so they do not produce any pollution. Moreover, in urban areas, specifically in cities and megacities is much better to investigate railways progression. Because, by developing in railways, more public encourage to uses the trains. In other words, by using cars individuals have to spend a much time commuting, but by progressing in train routes and using trains, people can go anywhere in town faster than their automobiles, so it can reduce the traffic in towns and commuting times. Also, the cost of car maintenance is high (such as engine and insurance costs); for this reason, individuals are reluctant to use automobiles, so by constructing new routes for trains, the government allows the public to reduce their living costs by using trains. In conclusion, the government should investigate developing railways more than roads because the environment is damaged less. Moreover, persons want to reduce their costs and time in their travel, so by developing and progressing railway infrastructures, individuals can reduce their travel times and travel costs by using trains via railways.