Many people prefer to stay in the same type of work all their lives, while others prefer to change the type of work they do. Discuss both these preferences and give your own opinion.

In recent times there have been several radical changes in the nature of employment. Most workers endured the same profession for their entire lifetime as they valued loyalty and perseverance. Younger people, it seems, have an entirely different attitude; they value work/life balance and often try various careers to pursue happiness. This essay will shed light on both attitudes, evaluating both positives and negatives, whilst also contributing my own opinion on the matter. The advocates of the traditional view believe it is wise to remain loyal to one company or trade for life. In such circumstances, the workplace becomes a pseudo-family. Furthermore, the worker gains a sense of familiarity in their role and becomes an expert over the years. Take my grandfather, for example, who worked in the railways from his teens to retirement. His trade was part of his identity. This perspective seems to be quite stultifying, in my opinion. It disregards the happiness of the individual and ties them down with obligations. Younger people tend to have less loyalty to their employers these days, and in my opinion, there are several advantages to this attitude. Many people are not happy in their job but are afraid of being jobless. But who knows? That new opportunity might give your life meaning, and be your future success! For example, Vera Wang is one of the world's premier women's fashion designers. However, prior to that, she was a journalist before making a bold, mid-life career change into the fashion industry. In conclusion, I argue that it is much better to change roles as often as necessary in pursuing the ideal career. A longstanding tenure may confer some stability, but there is no point in lingering in a job that does not satisfy you. And who knows. Perhaps if you follow your heart, you will achieve greatness!