Government investment in the art, such as music and theatre, is waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, more and more people observe what their governments are investing in. Many of them argue a choice of investment between arts or public services. In my humble opinion, I agree that investment in public services is a better choice. Not only can it reduce the expenditure on living, but it also reduces energy usage and carbon footprint. Firstly, by investing in public services like public transport, the cost of living can be greatly reduced. For example, a person who owns a car has to pay fuel costs and maintenance costs in order to keep the car running. Instead, if public transport is available to him, it will cost less than owning a car. This is one of many benefits that impact the public. Furthermore, by using public transport, the energy usage and carbon footprint can be highly decreased. When the majority of citizens use this means of transportation as their primary choice, the fuel consumption and carbon footprint also decrease. This is because the concept known as the economy of scale which basically means that it is cheaper to operate when everyone uses it. To summarise, public services investment is superior to art investment. This is simply because it impacts everybody significantly. They save more money by using public services and also help the world by decreasing the demand for fuel and reducing the carbon footprint. This is just one of many advantages to the public, there are many aspects that can also be beneficial to the public, for example, public libraries and public parks which also have all advantages mentioned previously.