Employers sometime ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that most organisations requested candidates’ personal information such as their occupations or material status when they apply for jobs. While some people take the view that these facts are important and useful, others don’t believe that. In my opinion, I accept that this information is relevant for employers. To begin with, there are people who take the view that they disagree with employers ’ requests for personal details. The most convincing reason for believing is that they think that these details such as hobbies, interests or others material status are unimportant or unrelated to the job. Some people don’t want to share their private information as they have difficulties sharing it with employers. For example, it is very difficult to share material status with a divorcee candidate. Therefore, they think that it is unnecessary to give detailed information in their resume or answer to employers. On the other hand, I am of the view that asking for the applicant’s detailed information from the organisation is useful and related to the job. The main reason for holding this is that it is kind of checking whether the applicant is fit this job requirement or not. Without checking the personal details of the applicant, employers are unable to make the right decision. For example, some vacancies that are required night jobs or need to travel and especially married female candidates who have kids are not suitable for this role. In addition, employers need to ask about the applicants’ interests or hobbies that will help to make a better decision for a vacant position. To sum up, although some people have some problems sharing their details, I believe that all information that is required by employers is important for them to decide to employ a deserved candidate.