Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people argue that the government should spend the money anywhere need it instead of supporting the arts. I totally disagree with this opinion because arts can benefit society and improve individuals' problem-solving skills and creative thinking. Firstly, arts will benefit our whole society because they will cultivate public aesthetic appreciation capability and make the community beautiful to improve the happiness of lives. Arts are an expression of people's feelings of happiness, beauty and sometimes sadness. The expression will evoke a similar feeling from the viewers and then inspire them. The arts will influence us in every aspect, including buildings, public areas, the style of doors, windows, and even the clothes people are wearing, you name it. For example, the Statue of Liberty inspires anyone who visits New York City and watches it. The statue not only decorates the city but also provides spiritual motivation to people. Moreover, art education can improve people's problem-solving skills and creative thinking which are critical for human beings to advance. Many countries have put art courses, like painting and music, into the compulsory subject list of primary schools and middle schools. They have been verified to be very helpful for students to develop their intelligence and various skills which become their life-long assets. For instance, my son begin to be able to try things he dared not when he attended painting classes in which he eventually could find out solutions to express his thoughts in the assigned work. The practice of freely expressing himself encourages him to be more creative. In conclusion, arts will benefit society by making everything beautiful, inspiring people, and improving individuals' skills and aesthetic appreciation. It deserves the money that the government sponsors appropriately.