Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our contemporary world, crime levels play a key role in the way people lead their lives. With regard to this, two opposing views have been suggested, one of which is related to (+noun / noun phrase) extending the time spent in prison, while the other is about (noun / noun phrase) coming up with different solutions. From my perspective, criminals should be treated with diverse methods rather than being kept in prison for a longer time. According to (the perspective) of some, offenders should be sentenced to a longer period in prison, since they might believe that it may be a deterrent not to commit a crime again. Yet, I am not on the same page as these people. To my way of thinking, keeping inmates behind bars for a longer time will not create the expected results, on the contrary, it might even make them more furious against the world. Criminal behavior is a type of instinct from where I stand, and no prison time can dissuade an offender from his misdeeds. For some other people, however, / As far as others are concerned, however, it might be more useful to find alternative ways to decrease the level of crime. The rationale behind their thought might be to treat the criminal behavior instead of trying to inhibit it. I also support this point of view and believe that the greatest motives of committing a crime are lack of education and a disturbed personality. Provided that these offenders are approached with a proper attitude, these problems might be better dealt with. In other words, both education and psychological support should be considered and granted for these people so that they can have the insight of the possibility of leading a better life away from wrongdoings. All in all, what can be concluded from the afore-mentioned remarks is that although some individuals advocate more time behind bars, I strongly believe that criminals should be tackled with via education and psychological counselling